A. Richard Nixon
B. Abraham Lincoln
C. George Washington
D. John F. Kennedy

Submitted by: Kinza Chaudhry


The commitment to the US lunar mission was announced by president John F. Kennedy in May 1961. It was fulfilled in eight years later in July 1969, when Apollo 9 sent two astronauts – Neil Armstrong and ‘Buzz’ Aldrin– to the moon and returned them to earth safely, to be welcomed by Kennedy’s successor (and nemesis) president Richard Nixon.

Correct Answer: John F. Kennedy

Last Updated: May 22, 2024